Democratic County Committee Members

The New York County Democratic Committee is the official Democratic political organization in Manhattan. Working with the Democratic State and National Committees, this body of volunteers is responsible for carrying on the business of the Democratic Party. (You can find out more here.)

New York State requires by statute that the Party committee be comprised of members elected by local Democrats. So for every election district in Manhattan, there are two or three county committee members elected by registered Democrats every two years. In our neighborhood we have 11 election districts, each of which is just a block or two in size. (In Seward and East River, each of the buildings is its own election district!) So there are 22 county committee members representing this neighborhood when the county committee meets to conduct business. (This will increase to 26 in 2019.)

When does that happen? Not that often, actually. But when these county committee members are called together it’s usually for a very important purpose. Just recently, county committee members from our neighborhood have twice been called together to nominate Democratic candidates for a special elections called to fill a vacancy in the State Assembly (2016) and the State Senate (2017).

Here’s a good FAQ of what the County Committee does.

We’re proud that in 2017 we elected 16 new county committee members who are founding members of Grand Street Democrats:

Lisa Arbisser
Moira Brennan
Heather Cousens
Allison Gordon
Martha Hornthal
Brett Leitner
Mark Lynch
Michael Marino
David Pass
Mathew Quezada
Daria Segalini
Melissa Shiffman
Michelle Stern
Hariette Skidelsky
Wei-Li Tjong
Kenneth Wind